GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

Law Reform Commission of Canada. The Law Reform Commission of Canada was established (RSC 1970, c.23, 1st Supp.) as a permanent body to study and keep the statutes and other laws of Canada under continuing and systematic review and in this way to complement the legislative and judicial processes. The work of the Commission is carried out with a view to making recommendations for their improvement, modernization and reform, including, without limiting the generality of the foregoing: the removal of anachronisms and anomalies in the law; the reflection in and by the law of the distinctive concepts and institutions of the common law and civil law legal systems in Canada, and the reconciliation of differences and discrepancies in the expression and application of the law arising out of differences in those concepts and institutions; the elimination of obsolete laws; and the development of new approaches to and new concepts of the law in keeping with and responsive to the changing needs of modern Canadian society and of individual members of that society. The Law Reform Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Justice.

Library of Parliament. The Library of Parliament as such was established in 1871 (SC 1871, c.21) although it existed earlier. It currently functions under RSC 1970, c.L-7. The Library of Parliament keeps all books, maps and other articles that are in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The Parliamentary Librarian is also responsible for the Parliamentary Reading Room, the Confederation Building Branch Library and the Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, members of the Privy Council, members of the Senate and the House of Commons, officers of the two Houses, judges of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Canada, and members of the Press Gallery. The Library indexes Senate, House of Commons and Joint Committee Minutes of Proceedings and Reports and provides an extensive clipping service to Parliament. In addition, books are lent to other libraries and government agencies and reference service is given to scholars. A special research branch serves parliamentarians only. The Parliamentary Librarian has the rank of a Deputy Head of a department and is responsible for the Control and management of the Library under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons assisted by a joint committee appointed by the two Houses.

Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board. The Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board, established in 1968, is responsible for considering applications for remission of duty on machinery and equipment classifiable under Tariff Items 42700-1 and/or 41100-1 and for advising the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce as to the eligibility of such machinery for remissions according to the provisions of these two tariff items. The Board is composed of a chairman and the Deputy Ministers of Industry, Trade and Commerce, Finance and National Revenue. It is assisted by the branches of the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce concerned with individual industries, including machinery manufacturing. The objective of the Machinery Program, which is administered by the Board, is to increase efficiency throughout Canadian industry by enabling machinery users to acquire advanced equipment at the lowest possible cost while at the same time affording Canadian machinery producers tariff protection on what they manufacture.

Medical Research Council. Established in 1969 and operating under authority of RSC 1970, c.M-9, the Council is a departmental Crown corporation of the federal government. It is composed of a president, a vice-president, and 20 members. The primary aim of the Council is the support and development of research in the health sciences in Canadian universities and affiliated institutions. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Health and Welfare.

Merchant Seamen Compensation Board. The Board is established by authority of the Merchant Seamen Compensation Act (RSC 1970, c.M-11, as amended) and reports to the Minister of Labour. The three members are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Board meets, as required, to adjudicate claims for compensation made by injured seamen employed on ships registered in Canada when they are not entitled to workmen's compensation under any provincial Workmen's Compensation Act or the Government Employees Compensation Act.

Metric Commission. The Commission was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1146, June 1971. It consists of a full-time chairman and up to 20 part-time commissioners, all of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of three years. An executive director acts for the Commission in directing the full-time staff.

The Commission advises the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce on plans for conversion to the metric system and may, for such purpose, prepare conversion plans and disseminate information. It includes 60 sector committees covering all areas of the Canadian economy. The staff plays a co-ordinating role for these sector committees, with the major impetus for conversion coming from the members who represent industry and commerce, associations, governments and other concerned bodies. Each sector committee develops a conversion plan for the industries involved; the sector plan is then approved by a steering committee. Both individual sector plans and over-all national guidelines are following a four-phase